Rajya Sabha polls: BJP fields four aspirants, Congress in spot

Rajya Sabha polls: BJP fields four aspirants, Congress in spot

The term of four members of the Upper House - Rajiv Chandrashekar (Independent), Rahman Khan (Congress), Basavaraj Patil Sedam and R Ramakrishna (Both BJP) - would get ended on April 2, 2018. He said that this was an old tactic followed by the saffron party, which had tried to do the same to prevent Rajya Sabha MP Ahmed Patel's candidature in the past as well. The candidates for all six seats from the state were elected unopposed today.

Senior Congress leader Rajiv Shukla will now file nomination papers from Gujarat for the upcoming Rajya Sabha polls due to be held on March 23. The ruling party is hoping that by engineering defection in ranks of Congress and NCP and getting extra votes from Shiv Sena its fourth candidate will sail through.

But Ms Rahatkar withdrew her candidature today, ensuring unopposed election of the rest.

The opposition parties the Congress and the BJP had not fielded any candidate due to their inadequate numbers in the state Assembly.

Monster Hunter World's Spring Update Dated and Detailed; Deviljho Gameplay Revealed
Further to that, there are a number of adjustments that will be made to the game's various weapons. You can take a look at the concept art and in-game render of the sword below.

Ahead of the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections, the BJP has added an element of unpredictability to the otherwise boring and predictable polls by fielding a fourth candidate from the state. Prakash Javdekar, V Muralidharan, Narayan Rane, Kumar Ketkar, Vandana Chavan, Anil Desai were elected to Rajya Sabha from Maharashtra on Thursday.

With the bitter experience of the nail-biting contest for the three Rajya Sabha seats in August a year ago, both the BJP and Congress might have avoided the risk of cross-voting by keeping the extra candidates in the fray.

The announcement came after Kiritsinh Rana of the BJP and P. K. Valera, a Congressman who filed his nomination paper as an independent candidate, withdrew their nominations.

"We will approach the High Court regarding disqualification of seven JD (S) rebel MLAs for voting against the party's candidate in the previous election to the Rajya Sabha". Two have been elected from the BJP and two have been elected from the Congress.

Related Articles