2407 candidates file nominations for Karnataka Assembly polls

2407 candidates file nominations for Karnataka Assembly polls

The Rashtriya Basava Sena on Tuesday claimed that the Lingayat community in poll-bound Karnataka no longer sees former chief minister B.S. Yeddyurappa as a leader. After this, Siddaramaiah also snubbed party's request to support the JDS during upcoming elections. On the last day for filing of nominations, the BJP quickly named Sreeramulu as its candidate for the constituency and rushed him to Badami with state party president B S Yeddyurappa and BJP Karnataka in-charge P Muralidhar Rao.

Top leaders of both the BJP and Congress have campaigned extensively ahead of the May 12 election in Karnataka, whose cosmopolitan capital Bengaluru is known as the information technology hub of India but has struggled to cope with its overstretched infrastructure.

The BJP, considered the main opposition to the Congress' bid for a second consecutive term in office, has been scrambling for candidates in many constituencies. Like Siddaramaiah, he too is set to contest two seats in the 12 May assembly polls.

The party has supported congress in 2004 and ran coalition government. Siddaramaiah in an exclusive interview with ANI exuded confidence that the Congress will get a clear majority in the elections. "BJP will win because Karnataka wants only the idea of development of Narendra Modi".

Meanwhile, much controversy has erupted after BJP gave tickets to the tainted Reddy brothers. Bhat will contest against Congress MLA and Minister of Fisheries, Youth Empowerment and Sports Pramod Madhwaraj.

Sarah Sanders, Trump Roast Democrats Opposing Pompeo Nomination
A favorable report is very much in doubt as the committee's 10 Democrats have said they will oppose Pompeo, as has Republican Sen. CIA Director Mike Pompeo is on track to make history this week, but probably not in the way his supporters envisioned.

The list of campaigners also includes Minister for External Affairs Sushma Swaraj, Minister for Defense Nirmala Seetharaman, and Information and Broadcasting Minister Smriti Irani.

In the survey, Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah emerged as the most popular candidate for the CM's post in this Karnataka Assembly Election 2018.

The BJP also stuck by its decision to disallow Yeddyurappa's son B Y Vijayendra from contesting Varuna seat in Mysuru - against Siddaramaiah's son Dr Yatindra - despite supporters of Vijayendra staging protests.

"In the general election they are unlikely to repeat the same result as the last time in states such as Rajasthan and Gujarat".

Related Articles